Our Vision

our visionAn Up Country,filled with prosperity.






Our Mission

our missionContribute to the operation of the rules,regulations and policies approved by the legislature and to act as a coordinator in bringing political,religious,social,educational and economical prosperity to the mass of the Central Province.

The Mace

the maceThe Mace, according to the British Westminster system is a special element of democratic parliamentary governing. The Mace symbolises the Public who take part in the governing process. The Mace is displayed in the House to symbolise the representatives of the people.

Read more


The office of the Council Secretary - Central Provincial Council - Sri Lanka

සභා රැස්වීම


මධ්‍යම පළාත් සභාවේ හයවන සභාවේ හයවන සැසිය 2018.02.07 වන දින පෙ.ව.10.00 ට

මධ්‍යම පළාත් ගරු ආණ්ඩුකාරවර නිලූකා ඒකනායක මැතිතුමිය අතින් උත්සවාකාරයෙන් විවෘත කෙරේ.

Last Updated on Tuesday, 30 January 2018 05:13

The Central Province - An Introduction


The Central Province is located in the central hills of Sri Lanka and consists of the three Districts Kandy, Matale and Nuwara Eliya.  The land area of the Province is 5674 square kilometers which is 8.6% of the total land area of Sri Lanka. The Province lies on 6.6°- 7.7° Northern latitude and between 80.5°-80.9° Eastern longitudes. The elevation in the Province ranges from 600 feet to over 6000 feet above sea level in the central hills. The Province is bordered by the North Central Province from the North the Mahaweli river and Uma Oya from the east to the south from the mountain range of Adams peak, Kirigalpottha and Thotapala and the mountain ranges Dolosbage and Galagedera from the west.

The mean temperature ranges from 16°C - 28°C in the Province where lower temperatures are recorded in hills in the Nuwara Eliya District. In the Central Province 52% of the land has been cultivated while another 6.3% has been identified as lands which can be cultivated. Of the lands cultivated more than 35% has been cultivated with tea while 14.8% has been cultivated with paddy. The percentage of lands cultivated with coconut and rubber is 4.8% and 2.3% respectively.

Read more
central province flag

About Central Provincial Council - Sri Lanka


The Provincial Council system was established in Sri Lanka in the year 1988 under the 13th Amendment to the Constitution of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka. Accordingly the functions of the Central Provincial Council have been commenced on the  14th July 1988 . The Central provincial Council Authority Area Consists of three Administrative Districts , Namely Kandy , Matale and Nuwara Eliya. There are 58  elected members in the Central  Provincial  Council , representing the major communities , Sinhala , Tamil and Muslims living in the Central Province.

The Governor appointed by the President functions as the Chief Executive of the Central Province. There is a Board of Ministers with the Chief Minister at the head and four other Ministers to aid and advise the Governor in the exercise of  his function.

According to  the 13th Amendment to the Constitution  the subjects  and function allocated to the Central Provincial Council are shown in the 1st List called the provincial Council List. The 2nd List shows subjects and functions reserved for the parliament called the reserved list and in  the 3rd List the subjects and functions can be exercised by both the parliament and the provincial council and is referred to as the concurrent List.

Read more
history of central provincial council

History of the Central Provincial Council


The first provincial election of the central province was held on the 23rd June 1988 and the United National Party won the ruling power of the council.  The first governor to the 1st council of the central province was hon. E. L. B. Hurulle (06. 06. 1988 – 31. 01. 1990).   The  first chief minister to the central province was Hon.  W. P. B.  Dissanayake ,the 1st chairman was Hon. D. B. Samarathunga and the 1st chief of the opposition party was  Hon. Sarath Kongahage.

Venue of the 1st Council Meeting was held on the 14th July 1988 at the Alwis Building, No. 11, Kande Veediya, Kandy.  until the 22nd January, 1991 assembly of council meetings had been held at various halls and hotels.  This day onwards the council meetings and all the services for the council members are done at the official assembly hall of the office of the council secretariat Pallekele, Kundasale.

Hon. P. C. Imbulana became the governor after him and held the position until 02. 01. 1995.

With the introduction of the Provincial Councils the laws & regulations effected are functioning mainly on the basis of following acts.

  1. 13th Amendment to the constitution
  2. Provincial Council Act no. 42 of 1987.
  3. Provincial Council Act no. 02 of 1988 on provincial elections.
  4. Provincial Council Act no. 37 of 1988 on Salaries and Allowances.


the mace

The Mace (Senkolaya)


The Mace, according to the British Westminster system is a special element of democratic parliamentary governing. The Mace symbolises the Public who take part in the governing process. The Mace is displayed in the House to symbolise the representatives of the people, who are elected by the public at Divisional level. Accordingly, the Mace of  the Parliament of Sri Lanka which is crafted with British tradition, was gifted to Sri Lanka by the British House of Commons in 1949.

The Central Provincial Council's Mace is also a result of the same influence. It is made with precious Mahogany wood and is a true representative of the esteemed upcountry craftsmanship. All members and officials of the House stand up and bow down to mark their respect to the Mace, from the moment it is been brought in to the house by the Chairman and Secretaries, to until it is laid on its holder.

Whenever the Mace is placed in the house, it is positioned so that the heavy head faces the governing party and the handle faces the Opposition. This is to denote that the bulk represents the majority and the handle, the minority. The Mace is seated at the top most place of its holder when the House operates as a grand assembly and lowered when the House functions as a working committee.


Read more

Page 1 of 2

  • «
  •  Start 
  •  Prev 
  •  1 
  •  2 
  •  Next 
  •  End 
  • »

central province motto slogan


Contact Us

Council Secretariatcontact us
Central Provincial Council
New Administrative Complex
3rd Floor, Pallekele
Sri Lanka

  • Telephone: +94 812 420705
  • Fax: +94 812 422629
  • E-mail: info@cpcouncil.net

Provincial Flower

maha rath mala central  province official flowerMaha Rath Mala
The official flower of the central province the Rhododendron arboreum - subsp. zeylanicum grows in the regions 1700 – 2300m above sea level, in Horton Plains, Ohiya, Pattipola, Seetha Eliya, Moon Thenne in the Nuwara Eliya district. It is reported that this plant has been found growing in the Knuckles, Namunukula ranges.